Mcgyver Maddox Salsa

First off, I wanted to thank everyone for their comments, suggestion and requests. I read them all and promise to posts everyone’s requests:  my Recipes, Restaurants, Online Clothes Shopping, Photography Equipment and Tips, Trader Joe’s Favorites, WINE, Puppy Chow and Treats, Curious Dog Behaviors and more.  Keep those cards and letters coming folks, I LOVE THEM!

 Maddox McGyver is a little bent out of shape being on the Jenny Dawg diet. I stepped away from the kitchen (laundry called) only to return to find him asleep, yes, dozing on the kitchen table, unbelievable.

There was no food to be found, he got bored, didn’t want to jump down and possibly hurt his paws, so taking a little nap was what he thought was best. I am so irritated at this moment. 

“Maddox! Get Down, Naughty boy!”

Umm sleeping here woman – where did you hide the food?

Wake me when you decide to cook some steak…..

 

He saw this as his window of opportunity, note to self to teach the kids to make sure all the chairs are tucked in when they leave the room.

Okay, I am over it now.

On to the fun stuff.

Salsa

This recipe is super easy. Terrific good – promise.

And I will not put it in Maddox’s food dish tomorrow morning, even though I want to. Gees.

The ingredients: 5 Roma tomatoes, 3 Serrano chiles, a little cilantro, 2 cloves of garlic, and salt.

That is all – trust me it is delicious.

Your hubbie will love you, friends will ask for the recipe, Mother-in-laws will look at you in a whole new light. Pinky swear.

First boil some water in a larger sized pot.

Cut the stems off the chiles.

Place the tomatoes and chiles in the boiling water for 2 minutes.

Very quickly they will look like this. Good Good.

Drain them and hit them with a cold shower to stop the cooking.

Put the two cloves of garlic in the bottom. Then throw the boiled tomatoes, chiles, and cilantro in a blender or food processor.

The trick here is to pulse, not blend. PULSE gently to chop the ingredients.

Finally add 1 tsp of salt, I add a dash more.

There you go. Tis good. Very good.

DH was served this during a conference call where he was ignoring me and I think the sky’s opened and rainbows came shining out of the back office. (The chips were heated up by the way)

Recipe:

5 Roma Tomatoes

4 Serrano Chiles

2 cloves of garlic

6 sprigs of cilantro

salt

Place tomatoes and chiles in boiling water to 2 minutes. Remove and rinse with cold water to halt the cooking process. Place garlic, cilantro, tomatoes, chiles and salt in a blender or food processor. Pulse to desired consistency. Add more salt to taste.

Serve with warm chips……

You are welcome – K

Excuse me, I now must go sanitize my kitchen table.

4 responses

  1. Kendel Pink

    Gotta love that dog!!!
    And thanks for the yummy recipe! Xoxo

    May 27, 2010 at 6:52 am

  2. Ginell

    I heart Maddox!!! Salsa looks delish. 😉

    May 27, 2010 at 7:00 am

  3. Pingback: Recipe Card Maker from Skip To My Lou | Sugar and Spice

  4. Looks great! Can’t wait to try this recipe. Thanks for sharing!

    June 17, 2010 at 1:35 pm

Leave a Reply

