Blog Crush and the OC Blogger Ball

What a difference 216 days make.

On January 26, 2010, Sugar and Spice was born. It came after a night at Haven Restaurant, in Orange. The Modchik and I crashed our very first Blog Crush, with the intentions of meeting local bloggers. I was their to support my friend in her professional research and development for her upcoming blog. I walked through those doors with no intention of launching my own blog, life was too busy and the little people, well, were a little time consuming.

I recall meeting both of Marcy and Suz that night then returning home to share with DH about spending time with like minded people who were stupendously smart and fabulous. Suz, I had known since our daughter’s shared a Kindergarten teacher 3 years ago, and Marcy welcomed me at first glance; she was a savvy.witty.kick.in.the.pants.gal – my favorite. That fateful night everyone greeted myself and Lindsey with open arms. Friendships were born.

Marcy, after charming me with her humor, looked me in the eye and encouraged me to be myself and start a blog “you can do it girl” don’t be shy. Two days later I created Sugar and Spice for those who were Beagle Brigade curious, enlightening folks who wanted to know more about our foster Beagles (Maddox/Buddy) and our new fancy show Beagle (Daphney) co-owned with Auburn Beagle in San Fran. Eventually, fate would have it, the requests came from loving and ultra supportive friends to share more of myself on my website (this took enormous thought & courage), and now thankfully, I am rubbing shoulders with some incredibly bright supportive and talented folks. Furthermore, Marcy still keeps me laughing.

Below is that fateful night last January captured by Marcie Taylor the Suburban Momma.

Above from the left,  Suzanne Broughton OCFAMILY, Marcy Massura of Marcy Massura.com , Lindsey Garrett The Modchik, myself and Shanna Coady My Favorite Everything. Adam from Adam the Dad, and Lindsey again.

130 posts later I love this little place where I set up some curtains and call home. This ‘Sugar and Spice Home’ is now part of a virtual community. It is a loving place and it has kept me blogging. And after last weekend, I realized this community is so much bigger than I ever imagined. This community is made up of women, parents, friends and strangers. I wish to share a glimpse of this community with you from the second annual Orange County Blogger Ball last weekend at the Embassy Suites in Anaheim put together by Marcy Massura & Suz Broughton. It was a splendid night where all corners of the OC virtual community met IRL (In Real Life). Where we could “ talk about things our non-blogger friends and family have banned us from talking about, like; Flickr, page views, that really funny post you read yesterday, and Twitter. “ Marcy’s words.

For the internet & technology cyber culture the bar featured special Orange Crush drinks, the Tartini was a favorite.

Photo by Modchik Photography

And everyone could follow the Waterfall Twitter feed for #OCBLOGGERBALL and chime in virtually through out the night. So Clever. Steve Bush from The Bush Report had me laughing at his input, especially during the raffle give away proportion of the night. The raffle featured some amazing giveaways. The Atwater Collection provided one of the many amazing prizes, an Ipad. I did say a little prayer to the techie gods to land this baby in my lap but I could not be more thrilled for Tracy Clark from Shutter Sisters to walk away with her new ‘baby’. She was celebrating her 42nd birthday and the winning number on her raffle ticket was #####42. How serendipitous. Thank you Atwater for making her day. (Remember the Summer Photo series posts, Tracey was my photography teacher Guru).

This was only one of the cool story from the night. Click on the links below to read further tales from the Ball:

Finally a huge SHOUT OUT goes to the nights sponsors who are on the cutting edge of marketing. They are some of the very firsts to realize the emerging potential of Social Media:

And Lastly…..

THANK FAIRY BLOG MOTHERS for filling my 216 days with purpose, support and kindness.

It was an outstanding evening.

Photo by Modchik Photography << (isn’t she great?)

kathleen sign tangarine

8 responses

  1. You know just how to make a girl cry. This post means so much to me. I am happy to know I have had a small positive effect on you and your blogging experience. 🙂

    August 31, 2010 at 1:31 pm

  2. Lin

    Great post & fabulous photos!

    August 31, 2010 at 1:35 pm

  3. Blogger ball was so much fun! By the way the haven gastropub was my first blogcrush experience and the third picture there in the series of 4? That’s me and my beautiful (and very pregnant at the time) wife.

    August 31, 2010 at 1:42 pm

  4. Great post. You have no idea how much this means to me that BlogCrush gave you some courage to start your blog. When Marcy and I started it we hoped that is what it would become. Thank you so very, very much for writing this. I’m filled with joy right now.
    Suz

    August 31, 2010 at 10:44 pm

  5. nice work – chickie!! that was quite the collaborative effort – you make it look so easy!

    September 1, 2010 at 8:47 am

  6. Lynne McCartney

    Thank you for deciding to take on this endeavor Kathleen, you have entertained us with your wit and your beautiful photos, keep up the delightful work!!!!!!!

    September 4, 2010 at 6:19 pm

  7. Pingback: 2010 ~ A Photographic Year in Review | Sugar and Spice

Leave a Reply

