Play dates at the Hospital

Hello friends. Sorry to be MIA and not finishing up Chicken Recipe Week but I have been busy with a bevy of play dates. Play dates with a handful of new friends from the medical community. 

Some of these friendly experiences have been lovely.  While others have been … well… MEH… are you listening Blue Cross?  The lovely experiences have reassured me people are truly compassionate and caring by nature. Surgeons like Dr. D with his gentle staff,  hospital nurses (waving hello to Gretta), Radiology Tech’s (giving some knuckle to Brett), and that entire foxy EMT crew have all made this experience interesting in a good way and palatable through the painful hours.

What did I get myself into you ask?

  • A New Rack – I wish
  • Tummy Tuck – that would be the day
  • Liposuction – nope
  • Undercarriage Tightening – non

The truth is I had a little, well not so little friend, living rent free inside me. It would throw wild parties causing the landlord a ton of pain and its presence was exhausting.

To back up, I learned of my tumor stowaway at the end of the summer. One doctor’s appointment led to another, then ultrasounds, a MRI, blood work, and finally watches were synchronized and the plan to evict the free loader commenced this past week.

Tuesday morning I checked in and was prepped for surgery. Everything went as planned during the procedure and I returned to my hospital room for observation and recovery. (private room, how cool is that?)

Since the procedure ranks high on the painful side of treatments post surgery patients receive a PCA (Patient Controlled Analgesia) pump. It allows patients to self manage pain. Every 10 minutes I could press my happy juice button, and Boy-Howdy did I ever. Each time the green button illuminated(allowing for more pain killer) I hit that device with lightening speed. I’m proud to say my reflexes are now quick enough for Jeopardy try outs. 

After my hospital recovery I returned home to be welcomed by family, friends, and the Beagle Brigade. 

We did have an interesting post procedure complication where DH looked at my oldest daughter and calmly told her to call 911.  Let’s say it was well controlled panic.

Enter good looking EMT crew.

I was transported by ambulance back to the hospital under a “code 3” (whatever that means) and spent the rest of the night hooked up to countless machines meeting an entirely new batch of friends.  I know party – party – party.

The next morning I was back at home, beaten up, worn out and on mandatory bed rest.  I admit I’m now a little over these new friends and play dates. I need to sleep.

Life is returning back to normal with faithful Daphney watching over me. She makes sure I take my pain pills and remain in bed.

A humongous thank you to my real life friends who have stopped by, called and brought meals/magazine/laughter over. Your thoughtfulness is appreciated and brings tears to my eyes. I love you all and promise not to go into the light any time soon.

Trying to heal quickly,

kathleen sign grey

 

 

19 responses

  1. Pingback: Friday Favorite – Boo Boo Glam | Sugar and Spice

  2. Pingback: 2010 ~ A Photographic Year in Review | Sugar and Spice

Leave a Reply

